Verein Termine Personen Chronik presse mitmachen Our Group

Stolpersteine Heppenheim

The group Stolpersteine Heppenheim e.V. – Erinnern für die Zukunft (Stumbling Blocks in Heppenheim – Remembering for the Future) was established in April 2013 to promote the laying and maintenance of “stumbling blocks” in Heppenheim.

Our aim is to keep alive the memory of the victims of the nazi regime, people who were exiled, deported and murdered. We also remember those victims who died in other ways as a result of their persecution, or committed suicide. Primarily, the group preserves the memory of the Jewish residents of Heppenheim.

At the same time we must learn for the future and make a clear stand against all forms of marginalisation and persecution. We also cooperate with other groups to commemorate other oppressed people and also we remember the Heppenheim Synagogue.

The town of Heppenheim and its residents, clubs and institutions, churches, and schools welcome this initiative and support it by their own active participation. The motto “Remembering for the future” has particular relevance in schools. Three female pupils of the Starkenburggymnasium created our logo based on this thought.

The memory is also kept alive by the first hand accounts of older citizens who lived through it, free of bitterness and hate. In 2013, for instance, Schlomo Samson was invited to tell his harrowing story.

Chairwoman: Sabine Fraune
Deputy Chairman: Frank Sticksel
Secretary: Dr. Hermann Müller
Treasurer: Christiane Wüstner (provisionally)
Assessors: Birgit Meurer, Sabine Schreck, Petra Göttert, Annette Spencer (to be confirmed at the next AGM)
Our constitution (in German only): [pdf]


© 2016–2018 Stolpersteine Heppenheim e.V., Deutschland   |  Impressum